From sweater to maxi basket

I knitted the Cocoon sweater a while back in March. It was my first ever knitted garment. Even if I was quite proud of it, I have not worn it at all : It is quite heavy and not easy to move in.
I thought it was a shame not to make better use of this lovely fabric yarn. So I unraveled the jumper and crocheted a maxi basket instead.


The basket is now in our living room. It is quite big (diameter : 46 cm ; high : 20 cm) and it is perfect to put away the sunday newspaper, the remotes and my knitting project !

25 Comments Add yours

  1. The basket looks fab and I LOVE the yarn

    Like

    1. Marion says:

      Thank you !

      Like

  2. That’s awesome! It can be so hard to give up on something you’ve made as it feels like a waste of all your hard work, but if you don’t like it, why not turn it into something you love? xx

    Like

    1. Marion says:

      Exactly 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Kat L. says:

    Recycling at its best 🙂

    Like

    1. Marion says:

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

  4. That is what I love about yarn. You can make something then if you decide to later you can take it apart and use it for something else. I do it all the time!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great that you could recycle the yarn to make something you are going to use more.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. sil says:

    Perfect – it gets used every single day!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. sil says:

    I just love the texture!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. kaktuscrafts says:

    I love recycled materials! Nice basket. And you’ll get more use out of it this way.

    Like

    1. Marion says:

      Thank you !

      Like

  9. mensew says:

    Excellent recycling and a beautiful basket.

    Like

  10. I have the same issue. I bought some beautiful yarn, made it into a tunic and don’t love the end product. Although I’ve wrapped it and put it away its memories are still plaguing me. Thanks for an inspiring post on recycling!
    P

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Marion says:

      I have absolutely no regret unraveling my jumper !

      Like

  11. Crazyqstitcher says:

    A clever and very useful idea to recycle your sweater. Well done!

    Like

  12. Your basket is so cute and useful! Great use of materials on hand.

    Like

  13. esewing says:

    Great basket , so useful for storing works in creation ! I have a few unloved previous makes – this is a great way repurpose them .

    Like

  14. dixiesunday says:

    I love this! I feel like I can never have too many baskets.

    Like

  15. Leah says:

    Perfect crochet work, and such a clever recycling idea, so practical ! Love it ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

