Adding bias bending everywhere !

I am too emotionally attached to some of my clothes especially if I had bought them abroad : they remind me of my travels when I open my closet. I keep them even if they are passed the state of being worn.

It is the case for a dark blue jumper I had bought in New York City 5 years ago. I love it but the elbows are completely teared up :

    

So I cut off the sleeves and added some colourful tartan bias :

  
 
I am so happy that I can wear it again !

The second item I have used bias to transform is an apron that we got at a bread making class. 

  
  
The apron is just the perfect size lengthwise and offer good cover up. The only thing missing was a front pocket : especially practical to store a phone when cooking, I never know where is mine when I need to check a recipe ! 

I have added to it a polka dot pocket with some contrasting polka dot bias :

  

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Really cool modifications to keep in mind when sorting through clothes!

    Like

  2. Caitlin says:

    I LOVE bias tape! It’s so easy to customize anything and everything and gives old stuff a new flare!
    Do you purchase your bias tape or make it yourself?

    http://www.mycheerfilledkite.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. Marion says:

      I purchased it ! do you make your own ? do you have the machine to make it ?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Caitlin says:

        Yes I do make my own bias tape most of the time! It’s actually very simple and easy!! I especially love it because then you can use ANY fabric, color or pattern you like! All you need is the fabric (usually you can use left overs from other projects if you have enough) and a regular sewing machine and iron! It’s really simple!

        Like

  3. Caitlin says:

    Hmm, you’re giving me ideas to do a tutorial blog for bias tape! 😉

    Like

    1. Marion says:

      please do 🙂 ! i will be the first one to try it !

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Marion says:

        thank you 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

