Tartan pyjamas

  I guess it is this time on the year when you just want to stay home and wear comfortable pyjamas. I have read a couple of blog articles lately (here and here) that inspire me to go ahead and make some for my boyfriend. 

  
The pattern is from McCall’s and it is the number 4244. I have just made the pants. 

  

13 Comments Add yours

  1. sewingkeepsmesane says:

    Lucky guy! The pockets are a useful feature he will certainly appreciate.

    Like

    1. Marion says:

      I hope so ! He has not tried it yet ! What is the address of your blog ? Every time I click on your name, I get an error message from WordPress.

      Like

  2. Nice pjs – agreed with the comment on the pockets. I’m going to make some flannel pjs in tomorrow’s sewing class – wish me luck! My first clothing sewed on a sewing machine since that hideous dress I made in 7th grade home ec! 🙂

    Like

    1. Marion says:

      Good luck !

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you – I’ll share my results (if they’re wearable). 🙂

        Like

      2. Marion says:

        How was the class ?

        Like

  3. The class is great – I really appreciate the teacher’s experience. I’ve got all the seams sewn except top (waistband w/ elastic) and bottom (hem) – that will be done next class (tho I’m going to try to read the pattern instructions and work ahead…). This flannel material frays a lot when laundered so she taught us to use zigzag stitch to close off the seams (new stitch that was fun to watch happen).

    She showed a cool trick to sew up the crotch seam (once each of the sides are sewn) by turning both pieces (front and back) inside out, then dropping one leg into the other leg so you can line up the crotch seam. This might be common knowledge in the pj sewing world, but it was cool news to me. 🙂 this allowed me to turn them right side out and try them on to see if I needed to take them in more in the legs.

    Pictures will follow (if all goes well at my last class next Saturday! 🙂 )

    Like

    1. Marion says:

      That sourds like a very great class ! I do not know that trick with dropping one leg into the other one so I will be very interested to read your article !

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Marion – I didn’t take pics in time to show this step, but I found a graphic online that represents it pretty well: sewpositive.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/jammies-e1426077980122.jpg. I think the trick is to turn one of the legs right-side out, then slip it inside the other leg. Then pin and sew the crotch, and when you flip it back right side out you’ll have pants to try on before hem or waistline adjustments.

        Like

      2. Marion says:

        Thank you for the link : it looks like an interesting technique ! I made summer pyjamas last week for my boyfriend using the same pattern but I might make some for me in a few weeks using your technique

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’m ironing the top of these flannel pj’s for tomorrow’s class and already dreaming of getting a light cotton material so I can make some capris (the pattern includes those and shorts). Let me know how yours turn out if make some for yourself.

        Like

      4. Marion says:

        I will and let me know how yours turn out !

        Like

Leave a Reply

